Sopron wine region is composed of the city of Sopron, the surrounding county and Kőszeg-Hegyalja. The central area follows the line of the Szárhalmi Woods, with a slope towards Lake Fertő. Its borders are the village Fertőrákos to the north, Lake Fertő on the east, Balf and Kőszeg to the south and Szárhalmi Woods to the west. The 1600 acres of wine region is protected by the Alps, and originally was divided into two large parts.